Stay Connected
 Home > Stay Connected > Press Releases
Print Print   Email    

Press Releases

<< Return to List

Outdoor Industry Salutes a Few Who Make a Big Difference: OAAA Honors Its Leaders at Gala Event

Washington , June 11, 2003 Last night, the Outdoor Advertising Association of America used the platform of its biennial convention, held at the Grand Hyatt in Washington, D.C. , to honor individuals whose contributions have inspired many. This 50-year tradition has evolved to recognize not just outdoor media professionals, but also the advertisers who make significant contributions to the industry.


“The individuals honored last night embody the leadership and dedication that sets an example not just for their peers, but for all American service industry professionals,” said OAAA President and CEO Nancy Fletcher.


The 2003 inductees were as follows:



MYLES STANDISH AWARD: Kevin Reilly, Jr., President and CEO, Lamar Advertising Company


The Myles Standish Award for distinguished achievement was established in1954 as a tribute to those who have made a lasting and outstanding contribution to the outdoor advertising industry.


Starting his career as an account executive in 1978, Reilly rose through the ranks of Lamar Advertising Company to become its President and CEO in 1989.  In 1996, Reilly was heralded for taking the century-old company public and building it into the third largest outdoor advertising firm in the . And while growing his company, Reilly retained the respect of his community, where he serves on many local boards and actively supports various public service initiatives.



L. RAY VAHUE AWARD: John Miller, Executive Vice President, MediaEdge: CIA


The L. Ray Vahue Award for excellence was established in 1979 to honor a person who best embodies the marketing aims of the industry.


A 35-year veteran of his agency (a subsidiary of Young & Rubicam), Miller is the first advertising professional to receive this award. He exemplifies the highest marketing values that the industry aspires to: a focus on quality, integrity and innovation. In his role as Executive


Vice President for Out of Home and Newspaper Media, he has developed countless programs, for clients such as AT&T and Citibank, that have won awards and more importantly, helped grow brand business.



The HALL OF FAME AWARD: Brian McCarty, former President and CEO, Naegele Outdoor Advertising; William Reagan, Sr., CEO, Reagan National Advertising; Rick Robinson, Partner, MacDonald Media


The Hall of Fame Award was established in 1991 to recognize those who have made enduring contributions in various capacities throughout their careers.


Brian McCarty served the outdoor advertising industry for over four decades in a wide range of roles as salesman for Karl Eller in his western operations, as plant operator for Ackerley in Boston and finally as media company owner for PONY Outdoor in Albuquerque and Naegele Outdoor Advertising in Minneapolis. He served as OAAA’s Marketing Chairman in 1992 and 1993, and today is an active board member of the Foundation for Outdoor Advertising Research and Education (FOARE), the industry’s charitable foundation.


William Reagan, Sr., formed Reagan National Advertising 38 years ago while still in college.  Begun initially as an 8-sheet plant in northern Utah , the company expanded both its product line as well as its geographic reach, operating today in four states with 2800 billboard faces.  A lawyer by training, Reagan holds degrees from the University of Utah ’s College of Law and Harvard Business School and is active in the YPO, WPO and CEO organizations, as well as within the industry on various committees and boards.


Rick Robinson is a partner at MacDonald Media, heading up the firm’s Los Angeles office, where he is a passionate advocate for the bold use of the outdoor advertising medium.  A talented artist and proponent for what he calls the ‘people’s space’, Robinson began his career at Gannett Outdoor as an account executive in the San Francisco office.  In the mid-‘90s, he moved to Los Angeles to serve as Creative Director for Infinity Outdoor, which acquired Gannett Outdoor Group and was subsequently acquired by Viacom.


For a history of past winners, please visit OAAA’s website at



<< Return to List