Stay Connected
 Home > Stay Connected > Press Releases
Print Print   Email    

Press Releases

<< Return to List

OAAA Industry Awards

2003 Myles Standish and L. Ray Vahue Awards Presented

Two prestigious industry awards were presented at Tuesday's gala dinner. The Myles Standish Award is the outdoor advertising industry's highest honor. It was established in 1954 with a donation by Myles Standish, outgoing OAAA chairman of the board. The award honors a person who has made an extraordinary contribution to outdoor advertising over an extended period of time.

This year's Myles Standish award was presented to Kevin Reilly, Jr. who began his outdoor advertising career in 1979 as a salesman. Company management recognized his keen intellect and business acumen early in his career and he was quickly promoted. In 1989, he became president and CEO of Lamar Advertising, the role he holds today. In his quiet way, he pushed the envelope, taking the company public in 1996, and growing the business to become the third largest outdoor company in America.

Arte Moreno and Nancy Fletcher presenting the Myles Standish Award to Kevin Reilly, Jr.

Presentation of the L. Ray Vahue Award to John Miller. (From left) Rocky Sisson, Clear Channel Outdoor, John Miller, mediaedge:cia and Stephen Freitas, OAAA
The L. Ray Vahue Marketing Award honors and recognizes a person who most embodies the marketing aims of the outdoor advertising industry. This award is presented in memory of L. Ray Vahue, OAAA chairman from 1973-75, a respected leader in the industry. The L. Ray Vahue award went to John Miller, a consummate professional who has served the industry for more years than seems possible and continues to do so today. He exemplifies the highest values that the industry aspires to-a focus on quality, integrity, and innovation.
OAAA Hall of Fame Winners
Three outstanding leaders from the outdoor advertising industry were inducted into the OAAA Hall of Fame at the closing Gala Awards Dinner on Tuesday evening.

OAAA chairman, Kevin Gleason, remarked that these individuals exemplify the qualities that make this industry strong: talent, conviction and integrity.

Brian McCarty
Brian McCarty has served the industry for over four decades as a salesman, plant operator and owner. He was the OAAA marketing chairman in the early 1990's and even in retirement continues to serve on the industry's foundation board of directors.

Ken Klien presents the Hall of Fame Award to Bill Reagen.
Bill Reagan (Reagan National Advertising) was recognized for his involvement with the industry over a span of 38 years operating an independent, multi-state company. He has longstanding service on the association's board of directors along with being an active member of the legislative, marketing and executive committees. Bill is also a founding director of the revitalized industry foundation board of directors.

Rick Robinson
Rick Robinson (MacDonald Media Inc.) has spent his career in selling, speaking about, and creating great outdoor advertising. Now using his talents to woo clients to use the medium, Rick exudes passion about the outdoor advertising medium by aiding clients to maximize their investment in advertising outdoors, which he has so appropriately coined as the "People's Space."


<< Return to List