Stay Connected
 Home > Stay Connected > Press Releases
Print Print   Email    

Press Releases

<< Return to List

OAAA Announces 2004 OBIE Judges

The Outdoor Advertising Association of is pleased to announce the seven-member judging panel for the 2004 OBIE Awards. The OBIE Awards recognize creative excellence in outdoor advertising and is the oldest and one of the most prestigious awards in the advertising world.



“The OBIE Awards call attention to the enormous creative potential that outdoor can offer to advertisers utilizing the medium,” stated Stephen Freitas, chief marketing officer at OAAA.  The OBIE Awards are only one part of an ongoing outreach effort to the creative advertising community. In October 2003, OAAA also established a creative committee. “The creative committee is charged with enhancing the OBIE brand among agency creative directors” explains Freitas.



Judging will take place on Friday, February 20, 2004, at New York ’s

W Hotel-Times Square
, where the team will review close to 1,500 images. The 62nd Annual OBIE Awards will be presented at a special gala evening on the closing night of the Traffic Audit Bureau (TAB) 2004 Out of Home Media Conference and Media Expo in Scottsdale, AZ on April 20. The 62nd Annual OBIE Judges are:



Rick Boyko, VCU Adcenter, Chief Judge


A former co-president and chief creative officer of Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide, Inc, Rick Boyko joined VCU Adcenter in 2003 as their managing director and associate professor. One of the advertising industry’s top creative talents, Rick also sits on the board of Roxio, the Art Directors Club, and The One Club for Art & Copy. He is currently on the Steering Committee for the Art Center College of Design.



Bruce Bildsten, Fallon


Creative director of Fallon’s Minneapolis headquarters, Bruce Bildsten has been one of the creative pillars at the agency since 1985. His work has received top honors in the advertising community, including the Grand Prix at Cannes , the Grand Clio, the Titanium Lion, and two Emmy Awards.



John Connolly, MediaCom


Since joining MediaCom in 1994 as senior vice president, John Connolly has created one of the largest outdoor media departments in the country. In addition to managing 20 outdoor professionals, John also sits on the board of directors of TAB, and is chairman of the AAAA Out of Home Committee. He was named Mediaweek’s OOH All-Star in 1995.


Jeff Hicks, Crispin Porter + Bogusky


After joining Crispin Porter + Bogusky in 1997 as president, the agency grew over 400%, was twice named Agency of the Year by Creativity Magazine, and has been Adweek’s Agency of the Year for the Southwest for three of the past four years. CP+B won the Media Grand Prix at Cannes in 2003 and had been profiled in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Newsweek.



Zak Mroueh, TAXI Advertising and Design


Since joining TAXI in 1999 as vice president and creative director, Zak Mroueh’s work has been consistently receiving international acclaim. TAXI was listed on the prestigious GUNN report in 2002, and has been named ’s Agency of the Year for three years in a row.



Beverly Okada, Saatchi & Saatchi


Beverly Okada joined Saatchi & Saatchi in 1998 to manage globally Proctor & Gamble’s Olay brand. She has achieved an outstanding creative reputation for her work on a number of complex businesses, including the repositioning of Clairol’s Herbal Essence, USA TAG Heuer brand, creative development and management of Xerox and Revlon International, and was one of the first women to work on a car account, Pontiac .



Joe Sciarrotta, Ogilvy & Mather Chicago


As executive creative director and co-managing director of Ogilvy Chicago, Joe Sciarrotta develops and guides the spirit of such national and global brands as Craftsman, Kenmore , Sears, and Ford Corporate. He is also a member of Ogilvy’s Worldwide Creative Council, and has twice been named to Adweek’s Creative All Star lists.




<< Return to List